#kubecon ’16 for me: inspiration, community, and strategic validation

In a short span of time, companies will no longer own or probably never buy new hardware. Gone are the days of PXE booting racks and racks of the stuff. These classical and mysterious oompa loompas are being replaced by automation and tooling. Hardware vendors are cannibalising and consolidating their business all at the same time. While skeptics remain, haters are always going to hate. Then Kubernetes flew in. Like a moth to a flame I was completely drawn at the time. Alas, just scratching the surface lies a giant of a community, oozing with great ideas at an amazing pace. Armed with my own fanboy enthusiasm, I ventured into my first #kubecon this year. One thing for sure, I cannot wait to move stuff to CoreOS and rkt!

These days projects are executed by highly agile guru devops fullstack teams, and we are shipping containers. Containers are a fun new way to package software, as devs are always keen to rewrite SysV init or system.d. I too am guilty of this in the past, at times mustering the courage to create these unique snowflakes rainbow-unicorn of a bash script. Yes, it appears that the dark days are back… maybe… and some of us might be enjoying this a little too much 😀

Containerisation is the essence of devops as it breaks down the barriers between sysadmins and devs. However Kubernetes does not solve the fact that we are still maintaining or are currently churning out shitty applications despite the improved process around it. The usual remedy is by hammering down on non-functional requirements to level out most of the technical debt. Naturally Kubernetes does not give you free non-functional requirements. Truth is, you never got non-functional requirements for free. This was the clear dividing line between craftsmanship or sipping soup from the big ball of mud. What Kubernetes does give you is elasticity, optimisation and scalability.

Self serviced infra is cool. It was a common theme throughout #kubecon. Having Kubernetes as an integral part of the development process will bring about the next level devops. Empowering these team seems to be the magic sauce and I wholeheartedly agree. Finally we can ditch the last of Elastic Beanstalk.

The biggest validating moment for me was centered around enterprise transformation, based around automation, build pipelines and ChatOps. I knew my strategy was awesome, but this completely made my day. We have in place all three within a short time and we are not alone in this hipster movement! Not to mention we are bloody good at this too! Right up there with the best. A proud moment as I quietly gave myself a pat on the back, swiftly jumped on Slack, shared the good news and congratulated everybody on the team.

#kubecon this year for me was just an amazing experience. It has been a while since I have attended a conference for the sole purpose to just soak up the knowledge from the superheros that I look up to. It was nerdinus maximus, happy hour all day everyday, and I can’t wait to do it all over again.

Leave a Reply

